new combat animations

General Discussion is for anything related to Blackstone not covered in the other forums.
fredfurner
Commoner
Commoner

new combat animations

Post by fredfurner »

Howdy all. I am still new to NWN multiplayer and server play, so I know almost nothing about how this game works in the background in regards to client/server processes. I have searched these forums for keywords and answers but still cannot glean much from the squabbling conversations from 10 yrs ago. With that preface, I present my two questions:

1. I see all sorts of ".hak" files being advertised in Steam. Today, there was one showing some pretty cool combat animations. Is this something I can just do on my own or is this stuff server dependent?

2. Sometimes I notice I will pick up a "PC Properties" item. I assume (out of ignorance) this is some item for which I do not have an associated file for on my client. This leads me to believe there are some things that can be controlled on the client side. Am I missing something?

3. Perhaps it would be beneficial to make a sticky post about how this server works, particularly what things will and will not work on the technical side, perhaps recommended minimum hardware, etc...

Thanks to everyone for the awesome community, and to driller and anyone else involved in the development and maintenance of this server.
driller
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: new combat animations

Post by driller »

A .hak you download will not work unless the server uses it. I do not use any hak files on BSK.

Files called an override will work client side. Which are probably what the combat animations you are talking about are.

PC Properties is a hidden item your character equips that I use to control subraces/shifter/and or balancing issues for characters.

You should be able to find most of the information about how the the engine works by searching the NWN wiki:

http://nwn.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Thanks,
-driller